h1

Letter from a reader – the thing that makes the world a nice place

April 9, 2013
I have been an ardent reader of your articles which appears every Saturday in The Hindu (Habitat).
 
I have converted to become a farmer myself after nearly 20 years of Corporate service.  We strongly believe in Organic Farming Practices and Sustainability, which of course, Rain water harvesting is one of major tool. 
 
In one of our farms extending nearly 20 acres we did dig up some trench and ponds for water to be collected during rain about 18 months ago.  The last two years have been frustrating for us with insufficient rainfall and not able to see results with our effort.  Also we had several people laughing at us and ridiculing our work.
 
However, as we all know we received good rainfall on one day i e., on 6th morning in the early hours, it was for about one hour and approximately 35 mm of rainfall was recorded.  The result, it transformed the entire area.  There were no major top soil erosion thanks to various trench which cut across the farm.  Two ponds exclusively created to collect water was filled to the brim.  
 
I have no more words to express than few pictures attached herewith.  I also acknowledge much I was inspired and motivated by writers and activists like you to work in this direction.  I wish to extend my heartfelt thanks on this occasion.  
 
Looking forward to hear from you.   
Image
Contour trench to recharge rainwater
Image
 
One comment

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rareely do I come across a blog
    that’s both equally educative and amusing, and lett me tell you,
    yoou have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something ttoo
    few men aand women are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I found this in my hunt for something concerning this.



Leave a Reply

